Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
canadianlori

Planting seed outside

CanadianLori
11 years ago

I'm a newbie at this pepper growing. I had previously started my seeds in pots inside, then transplanted to hanging pots outside. Well, a couple years ago I left my pots in the care of a relative who did not water them and I returned to petrified pepper plants. This is in mid June. I used what seed I had on hand to replant directly in the pots - and these did extremely well and though the crop was not available until late September, I still felt fortunate. Last year I sewed direct again in late May. I plan to direct plant outside at the end of April in hopes that I can get a jump on the season. Anyone else tried it this early?

Comments (10)

• ab2008
    11 years ago

Are these sweet, or hot peppers that you are starting if you don't mind my asking? If it were me, I'd try to start indoors if you can and have the space. I started my sweet peppers the 22nd of february. May have been a little too soon, but they are itching to go out.

At this point in the year though, I'd start them asap. That's just me though.. I'm not sure when your average last frost date is however.. can you provide what types of peppers and where you are located state wise?

• penguinsrock09
    11 years ago

If you are indeed in zone 5 you should definitely be starting the seeds indoors under lights. Sure you may be able to germinate seeds in July but for the vast majority of pepper types (both hot and mild) that does not leave them enough time to reach maturity and put out ripe pods by the time the season winds down.

If they do manage to set ripe pods you're lucky. Most plants started indoors will set ripe pods multiple times a season so you are missing out on the true productivity of your plants.

• CanadianLori
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I have been growing Ring of Fire, Jalapeno and last year was my first for Habanero.