Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bill106

Complete growing time guide

Bill106
12 years ago

I understand that each zone differs, however I'm looking for a link to a general growing time for hot peppers. Just something to use as a rough guide. I've had my peppers growing for a few weeks but I just ordered some Trinidads. Hope I'm not getting too late to start those up now being in Wisconsin. Thanks

Comments (10)

• mbellot
    12 years ago

I'm no expert, but my understanding is the growing time is tied much more to the particular variety, not the zone where you are growing them.

You may be late on the Trinidads (depending on the specific variety), I'm in Illinois (by O'Hare) and started mine in late January. However, I've got some sweet bells that the wife wants that I'm starting today (hopefully).

• User
    12 years ago

Like mbellot, I started my Trinidad's and other super hots in January.

According to my notes, Scorpions and 7 Pots are 90 - 100 days to maturity / pods.

It's a bit late for zone 4 but I'd give a few seeds a shot, We may get a great season. Save some seeds for next year and start them earlier.

• wichitachief
    12 years ago

I was late with my ghosts last year. I tried something suggested to me, I overwintered some plants to have a mature pepper going into this year. Just an idea if the season runs out before the plants produce.

• Bill106
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I'll give a couple seeds a shot and be vigilant. I like the idea of overwintering also. Also if anyone finds a growing time/index link please post. Thanks all.

• plant_newbie_2010
    12 years ago

Hi, I don't know if this will help, but I found a post someone had on their bhut growing timeline for zone 7. Here's the link: http://forums.gardenweb.com/forums/load/pepper/msg0723151717924.html

Hope it helps!!=)

• esox07 (4b) Wisconsin
    12 years ago