Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scorpiongrower

Dying seedlings

ScorpionGrower
9 years ago

I need help with diagnosing what's wrong with my peppers The leaves are curing toward the middle of the plant I am very new to this and I have never grown peppers before right now I am currently growing trinidad moruga scorpions trinidad butch T's and bhut jolokias All of them was doing fine until it got really hot In the house and I am not for sure if its the heat that did it or not

Comments (11)

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    9 years ago

Heat, drying out? How are you controlling the situation?

Josh

• DMForcier
    9 years ago

See that white stuff on the side of the hockey puck? That is mold and it probably is affecting the seedlings' roots. I bet you still had the dome on the little "greenhouse"; you're supposed to take it off once the seeds germinate.

There's a couple ways you can go now:

* Soak the affected hockey pucks in 3% hydrogen peroxide. That will kill the fungus but could harm the plant (never has hurt mine). That won't reverse the damage but is worth a try.

* Cut them out of the hockey pucks, gently shake or wash off the infested dirt and plant into fresh, preferably sterile, potting mix. That will be traumatic to the plant unless you're very careful.

* Start over, this time without the hockey pucks.

Any of these options resonate?

Good luck,
    Dennis

• gardenper
    9 years ago

When I saw the picture, I thought it might be a bit dry. Watering from the tray may have gotten the bottom wet but it may not be wicking up to the top, where the shallow roots are currently.

The white cloth material on the outside looks dry imo.

• ScorpionGrower
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I watered them and they seem to be uncurling a bit and I took them out of the dome and put them near the window the instant they sprouted the rest seem to be doing fine

• ScorpionGrower
    Original Author
    9 years ago