Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cjohansen_gw

Black spots - sunburn?

cjohansen
11 years ago

A couple of weeks ago I decided to do a small experiment: pot one of my healthiest Jalapeños into a big-ish pot. It's so big that it doesn't fit in my grow frame, but luckily we've had good sun during the day for some time now, so I moved it permanently to the kitchen table. Here it enjoys full sun 6-10 hours a day (depending on whether or not I am home to move it throughout the day).

I noticed that the plant has developed lots of dark spots on its leaves. I'm a total beginner, so this may mean nothing. But I'm curious if it can be either sunburn, or too little light (like I said, as little as 6 hours of direct sunlight). Or some deficiency of some sort.

One of the lower leaves on the "sick" plant:

{{gwi:1164226}}

One of the top leaves:

{{gwi:1164227}}

Some leaves on another Jalapeño that was sowed on the same day. It's received the exact same treatment, except it's in a smaller pot and mostly gets artificial lighting. However, I do put it on the windowsill as well almost daily. When I do, it's there 7-8 hours, enjoying full sun (through the window).

{{gwi:1164228}}

The two plants, side by side (the right one being the spotty one):

{{gwi:1164229}}

The healthy-looking plant is subjected to a fan on a semi-regular basis, the spotty one is not. The spotty one has sat through a little bit of draft as the porch door has been open on sunny days, but it's never gotten very low temperatures.

What say ye, people of vast experience?

Comments (15)

• don555
    11 years ago

That doesn't look like sunburn to me. Sunburn usually puts a whitish-silvery sheen over a broad area of the leaf, then gradually withers or just stays the same.

No idea what you have. It looks kind of like the damage you get after spraying a leaf with Safer's soap to control aphids.

• cjohansen
    Original Author
    11 years ago