Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pepperdave

Need help with 5-1-1

pepperdave
10 years ago

I'm new at 5-1-1 Here is what I'm going to use + lime .
My problem is my pine bark is to large for the mix .If I sift it 70% will still be left behind. I have to break it up somehow and would like some feedback and possibly save myself a lot of time. Ive been growing in the ground and I'm using 5-1-1 for isolation purposes

Comments (38)

• habjolokia z 6b/7
    10 years ago

Run it over with a truck. Maybe a hammer but that may involve a lot more work than anyone would want to do.

Mark

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    10 years ago

Know anyone with a chipper?

Every time you go to a business that sells bark products, check out what they have. I'm regularly pleasantly surprised to discover great sources for bark where their last year's product was unacceptable. To be fair though, it cuts both ways - last year's great source might not be even close to what's on the shelf this year. After a few years, you'll probably have discovered a couple of consistently favorable sources and a few others that are serendipitous if you're persistently watchful.

Good luck!

Al

• woohooman San Diego CA zone 10a
    10 years ago

I've heard people putting it into a pillowcase and running over with a vehicle.

Kevin

• Bill_Missy
    10 years ago

Agree with Kevin. I put my bark in a pillow case, run over it with my truck and few times and move on. Works great.

Bill

• esox07 (4b) Wisconsin
    10 years ago

Yep, the DIY solution that I have heard is the pillow case and truck method. I am just wondering how long that pillow case would last if you wanted to do 15 bags of the pine bark?

Best solution would be to run it through a chipper if you can get access to one. If you plant to do a lot or you have some typical use for the chipper, you could probably rent one for a few hours for a reasonable fee.