Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pepperguy222

Advice for a Novice Grower?

PepperGuy222
11 years ago

So im new to this whole pepper thing and Ive only grown peppers for one summer but turnout wasnt the greatest. I also live in NW Ohio, weather is shaping up to be high 50's and better from now on. I was wonderng a couple things.

1st. Whats the deal with this mulch/bark mix, I see this in so many threads and really dont understand it.

2nd. I dont know what the difference between a soft white CFL light and a regular CFL light is.

3rd. I really dont know when to repot my plants. I started them all in those peat pods and now I dont know when the right time to transfer them to my planting pots that I bought.

This is the information that I really dont understand and some insight would be awesome from all of you pros out there. Thanks everyone.

Steve

Comments (7)

• cjohansen
    11 years ago

Disclaimer: I'm a first-time grower, so don't really know what I'm doing. I'll attempt an answer anyway :)

1. It's a so-called "5-1-1": 5 parts pine bark, 1 part perlite and 1 part peat with some nutrients added. It's supposed help with aeration in the mix. I have not tried it. Regular potting mixes also work, but as the plants grow bigger they might require more frequent watering and/or more easily become waterlogged (which the plants really do not lke).

2. I'm guessing a "soft" light is a light with a low color temperature, usually 2400K. This is the yellow-ish light we typically us indoors. CFLs also come in bluer variants, such as "daylight" 6400K. The blue light is generally recommended. I actually read in a book on peppers that there is no scientific indication that the color temperature means much - it all comes down to the light intensity. As far as I know, you can use whatever you have during the growth stage, but if you want flowers/fruits under artificial lighting it becomes a lot harder.