Return to the Hot Pepper Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Do I need lime for this soil mix?

Posted by speciesonly Fla 9b (My Page) on
Wed, Apr 2, 14 at 17:19

Hello all, this is my first post. I've been growing peppers for several years and I have been playing with mixes recently. I've gotten I ideas from this forum and others and I was wondering if this type of mix needs lime added to it?
5 fine pine bark mulch
2 shredded pine needles
2 jungle growth
1/2 sand
1 perlite
1 peat sphagnum
Crushed egg shells
Thanks, Michael

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Do I need lime for this soil mix?

Yes, that type of mix could benefit from the addition of Dolomitic Lime.

I would eliminate the sand and eggshells completely.

Josh

o

Thanks for the info greenman, I really appreciate it.

o

I would lime it. Ca. & Mg. also PH

o

Pepperdave, Dolomitic Lime provides both Calcium and Magnesium :-) Dave, I probably misread your post. You were explaining that the Lime provides Ca and Mg, plus raises the pH? Sorry, didn't mean to come off as corrective if that's what you intended.

Josh

This post was edited by greenman28 on Sun, Apr 6, 14 at 12:47

o

What is"Jungle Growth"?

If you fertilize with things like MG Shake n Feed, perhaps you won't need to add lime, since it has both calcium and magnesium.

I also don't see a purpose for adding sand.
And about eggshell there seems to be a lot myth running around about it.. The eggshells that I added to my compost almost 6 months age, are still intact. Sea shells are even more durable. It is like adding cast iron to soil and hoping that it will be iron (Fe) source for plants right away.

o

Almost nothing that you add to soil will be available right away. Egg shells are a good long-term source of calcium as are sea shells.

o