Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
boilmeimirish

Hot Pepper Seedlings Outdoors

boilmeimirish
12 years ago

Hey everyone! I've been lurking and posting (very selectively) on this forum for a little over a year now. I live in Long Beach, CA, and am trying to grow nearly 40 varieties of hot peppers this summer.

Thanks to the generosity of a few members on this board, I have been able to get my hands on several hot pepper varieties.

Because I am a college student on a serious budget, I am not able to grow my plants the way many of you guys do, with nice heating mats, and full-spectrum bulbs on shelves indoors.

Instead, I found a cheap (10$) heating pad that I would have to re-click into the 'on' position every 45 minutes under my pepper plants, to help them along with the germination process.

I now have several 2-3 inch seedlings, but I can't keep them indoors because I have no lighting, so I have been placing them outside. Do you all think I'm being too ambitious placing them outside this early? I was honestly excited just to get 4 bhut seedlings going!

Here's a 10-Day forecast for my neighborhood--I plan on pulling them in when it rains. http://www.weather.com/weather/tenday/90815

Thanks for the help!

~Mike

Comments (11)

• shoontok
    12 years ago

Well. Whats the temperature out there in Cali when ya putting the plants outside? I would try to not expose em to much to temps under 50 degrees.

• fiedlermeister
    12 years ago

I would harden them a bit by leaving them outside for a few hours and gradually increasing that until they can stay out all of the time.

• Phildeez
    12 years ago

It also depends on the location of your garden. If it is near a wall or on a patio it often stays warmer than the weather forecast, especially the soil temperature, which is very important.