Return to the Hot Pepper Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Outside Lowest nightly temperature that is safe for bhut j?

Posted by vettin z6b Northern VA (My Page) on
Sun, Apr 17, 11 at 19:52

Put these outside in their pots for the first time today. Wondering if I should bring them in at night?
Thank you.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Outside Lowest nightly temperature that is safe for bhut j?

• Posted by esox07 4, S. Cent Wisc (My Page) on
    Sun, Apr 17, 11 at 23:58

I am not an expert but everyone seems to say that 50 degrees is the cutoff for nightly temps unless it is just barely dipping below that once in a while. Prolonged temps under 50 are considered bad. I live in zone 4 and wont be able to leave mine outside for another 5 weeks or so. Bhuts seem to be more temperamental with cold than most other peppers. Personally, I will probably force my peppers to endure a little bit of the 40's though.

o

I have tried rushing the season and ended up with stunted plants. Plants started late and put out in warmer temperature caught up to and often surpass those put out early. If you are growing in pots, as I do, you can put them out on warm days and bring them in at night until temps stabilize.

o

• Posted by esox07 4, S. Cent Wisc (My Page) on
    Mon, Apr 18, 11 at 14:44

Fiedlermeister: Where are you located and when do you get your peppers outside in the containers they will spend the summer in?

o