Return to the Hot Pepper Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Overwhelmed after potting up

Posted by peps22 6b (My Page) on
Sun, Apr 6, 14 at 19:56

This is my first time ever potting up from the seedling tray. I always kept them in the trays until May and put them outside. This time, one month in, I have potted up to solo cups.

I instantly feel overwhelmed. Obviously, the solo cups take up a lot more room. The grow light I had was not adequate for the trays - now the grow light will barely hit 50% of these cups. I have a huge south facing window which will help.

How do I water these? I cut a big hole in the bottom for bottom watering, but I don't have anything to catch the water. I'm concerned that top watering will not go deep enough, and if I water it too much from the top to get it deep, the plant will turn yellow. If I need to bottom water, I will need to put the cups in something, but I don't know if I have enough room. I read a thread on here about nesting cups, but people say that isn't ideal, either.

Just. Really. Overwhelmed.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Overwhelmed after potting up

Stop...take a deep breathe , and relax. You're obviously doing fine so far. Potting up is a good thing. Personally, I poke 3 or 4 holes in the bottom of solo cups. I water from the top until water runs out the bottom. Then I'm set for at least a week. Lather, rinse, repeat. It's easy as that. Good Luck!

Tim

o

A large rimmed cookie sheet would work, or a large old broiler pan.

Years ago I bought a tough plastic oil drip pan (in a Walmart automotive dept) which I have used for numerous gardening chores, includin soil mixing, ever since. A smaller child's plastic "swimming pool" or sandbox can also be useful.

o