Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
peppernovice

isolation

peppernovice
12 years ago

This is my first year growing peppers. I would like to keep all my strains of peppers pure. I have about 10 different varieties. My question is, how far apart do I need to keep them in order to ensure they don't cross pollinate? I would think 10 to 15 feet would be enough. Is that correct, or do they need to be farther apart?

Comments (10)

• User
    12 years ago

Officially, one mile separation. That being said, it's generally accepted 500 feet should suffice. There are numerous techniques for isolating plants close to others ranging from gluing individual buds to covering the plant in tulle or shade cloth.

See link below for some ideas.

Here is a link that might be useful: Preventing cross breeding

• peppernovice
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I feel like you personally took me under your wing Bill. The only way you could make this easier would be to come to my house and plant the peppers yourself! :) Once again Sir...I'm in your debt. Thank you.

• smokemaster_2007
    12 years ago

I think It depends on if your plants are indoors or out.
    Indoors they can be close together-no bugs...
    Out doors crossing depends on bees etc.
    I keep my plants indoors until I get a couple pods and mark them for pure seeds and move them outside.
    Depending on your need for pure seed,methods will vary.
    If you get seeds from trades they are not in general pure.
    Bagging,capping or glueing buds are best for multi variety growers.
    If you are talking about super hots you are screwed from the start.
    Most are re named as Varieties or strains that have not been grown out long enough to be considered stable.
    Most super hot sellers are selling seeds that never were grown out long enough to be even considered stable.
    Vendors could care less.They have your $.

I'm thinking super hots will be flooding the market next season and prices will drop.