Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
newgardenernina

Jalapenos at their best or worst?

NewGardenerNina
10 years ago

Hello,

This is my first time growing Jalapeno peppers and I'm worried they might be too small for their age:

I planted the seeds on 2nd of March, so I estimate they are about 12 weeks now and around 18 cm tall.

Should I be concerned or are they ar their optimum size?
I would like to stay away from fertilizers if possible.

Thanks,

Comments (7)

• chilliwin
    10 years ago

Hi NewGardenerNina,

I have not grown any Jalapenos so I do not know much about this variety.

You mentioned "I would like to stay away from fertilizers if possible." - you would like to use only the organic fertilizer or you do not like to use any fertilizer. I cannot get your point because container gardening needs fertilizer organic or non organic. Without fertilizer the plants may have a lot of problems of nutrient deficiency. If you used a very big container with very fertile soil then may be possible to grow without fertilizer regularly for a period of time.

Other forum members may answer your question more better than me, just wait.

Sorry for my poor English.

Caelian

• NewGardenerNina
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you for your answer, Caelian.

I use natural ingredients as helpers: banana peels, egg shells and other "quack remedies" that I learned from my grandma.

I'm not sure what organic fertilizer contains, but I would much rather grow the peppers naturally. Is this impossible for containers?

I appreciate the feedback.

• chilliwin
    10 years ago

NewGardenerNina, fertilizer made from natural ingredients are organic fertilizer. It is 100% possible to grow naturally. The link may have a lot of useful information about organic gardening:

http://forums2.gardenweb.com/forums/organic/

I do not have much experiences of gardening, I have been learning about container gardening here, this forum is very resourceful for me.