Return to the Hot Pepper Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Habanero Question

Posted by JenTiffany 7 OK (My Page) on
Sun, May 6, 12 at 11:45

Forgive me, I'm still pretty new at this. Just bought some habanero seeds for my hubby since he loves the really hot stuff. It says on the package to start the seeds indoors 8 weeks prior to transplant and then pretty much gives directions for hardening off the seedlings. It's already pretty warm here so is there anything wrong with sowing them right into the garden? Just wondering. The way my windows in my house are set up, it makes starting seeds indoors difficult. They don't get enough light. I bought a plant light for a lamp in the living room that was near a window but the squash seeds I started there didn't do well. I thought they were at first but then they got very leggy and didn't survive the transplant. Not warm enough and not enough light. So far, everything I've sown directly has done excellent.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Habanero Question

• Posted by esox07 4b Wisconsin (My Page) on
    Sun, May 6, 12 at 12:35

JenTiffany:
You can start them outdoors for sure. However, it is much easier to control the external factors if you start them indoors. You dont have to worry about temperature extremes, too much or too little rain, excessive wind, garden pests, both insect and furry and feathered. Then once the plants are 3-4" tall, they will have a better chance dealing with the elements outside. The big issue with transplanting them outside after being only indoors is that you must "harden" them off before you put them out side for good. The seedlings at that point are not used to the extremes of temps, wind and sun. You have to introduce them to the outdoors gradually until they are ready to go into the ground or container outside for good.