Return to the Hot Pepper Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Curly Anaheims?

Posted by TeXasbaby 8b (My Page) on
Mon, May 7, 12 at 12:27

This is my first year gardening and I was wondering if the Anaheim pepper I have growing is going to end up curly. I have looked for pictures of Anaheims that have just started growing, but none that I have found look as rounded as mine.

I bought all my plants already started from walmart, and I know that is not the best idea, but I couldn't find a local nursery that sold veggies.

So is my first pepper going to be round or will the main part be straight with just the end rounded?

Anaheim Hot Pepper, 5-7-12 it keeps getting curvier!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Curly Anaheims?

I think it will look pretty much like it does now.

I have grown Big Jim (similar to Anaheim) for several years and sometimes they are straight others, they are curled like yours above. Not sure what causes it.

o

Thanks, all of this is new to me, so I don't actually know what is normal and what isn't.

About how long will it take for the pepper to be ready to harvest? (impatient much?)

o

Once you're sure it's done growing, I think you can harvest any time. If you leave it long enough, it will eventually turn red (ripe).

I like some of each, so, I wait until some are turning red, then pick everything that looks full size and wait for the next flush or the smaller guys to get bigger.

BTW, it's hard to tell, but, that plant looks kind of small. I would expect that once you pick that one it should start growing more and will put out many more blooms.

o

When I bought the plant from walmart it already had two blooms on it. One set fruit, but then the whole thing fell off. This is the other bloom. I know I should have pulled the bloom off so the plant could get bigger, but I tend to be impatient and I doubt whether I can actually keep these plants alive. This is my experiment year more than anything really.

o