Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cait1219

Which serrano seedling is the strongest?

cait1219
10 years ago

This is my first year growing pepper's from seed so I need a little help. I planted several Serrano seeds but would like to only grow 2 of them into plants...how do I determine which seedlings are the strongest? Do I go by how tall they are or by which ones are starting to grow their second set of leaves first? I'm just trying to figure out which two are my best!

Comments (16)

• DMForcier
    10 years ago

If you're waiting for second leaf set it's really too early to tell about vigor. Let them grow as long as you can and the top plants will tell you who they are. Sometimes it's the tallest and earliest, sometimes not.

Dennis

• cait1219
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Well they're currently in the Jiffy pellets so I'm not sure when I need to transplant...I thought early. Like I said, I'm new to this:)

• tsheets
    10 years ago

Well, if I had to pick one now, I'd pick the one with the most leaves. Maybe the tallest would be a better choice, but, never really tested that theory.

• woohooman San Diego CA zone 10a
    10 years ago

Serranos are kind of leggy seedlings by nature. I would choose leaves over height.

Cait: Unless you're in South Florida or Texas, it's kind of late in the season to be trying to get something so young going and still have a productive season. Your best bet would be to ditch those this year and go get a couple or a pony pack from Home Depot et al. Next year, you may want to start a lot earlier(Jan or Feb) under shoplights like most of us here do. JMO

Kevin

• Armageddon
    10 years ago

i pick the seedling in photo #1 .......NM scrap that there is no photos :P

• cait1219
    Original Author
    10 years ago