Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
obi_juan

Bhut Jolokia Care

Obi_Juan
11 years ago

Hi, I just received a sprouted Bhut Jolokia. I live in North Ohio, and the average temp. is about upper sixties to seventies. Rains often. It will get warmer here soon more like 70s - 80s everyday.

I was just wondering if I could receive some advice on growing this pepper, as I am an amateur gardener.

It has been something I've been wanting to do for awhile so all advice would be helpful!

Thanks in advance!

Comments (17)

• Obi_Juan
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Also the sprout has two levels of leaves, and is about 2-inches high.

• User
    11 years ago

Welcome.

The link below will take you to a thread where you'll find loads of information on growing Bhuts spanning four years. If you still have questions after giving it a scan, as away.

Here is a link that might be useful: Bhut Jolokia best growing conditions?

• Obi_Juan
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks! But I was also looking for a little advice, specific to my climate.

• User
    11 years ago

I have no experience with your zone. I'm sure other members from your general area will chime in.

• esox07 (4b) Wisconsin
    11 years ago

OK, I am from S central Wisconsin. Probably a bit cooler on average than Ohio.
    You have two choices, plant it in the ground or plant it in a container. I recommend a container. It should be a minimum of 3 gallon up to 7 gallons. Use well draining medium. Peat is generally not considered a good choice. It can be part of your soil mix but a small part. Straight potting soil is also not recommended. You need something with real good drainage. For a single plant, I would probably just go with MG Orchid Mix which is what I use to grow my seedlings. It has a good percentage of pine bark fines in it. I would maybe add some additional perlite to that. You will probably need two bags for a 3-5 gallon pot.