Return to the Hot Pepper Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Do these yellow bell peppers look ready to pick?

Posted by calken Fresno, CA Zone 9 (My Page) on
Wed, May 17, 06 at 20:38

This is my first time growing peppers of any kind. They are suposed to be Golden Bells, but they don't look quite as golden as the picture that came with them. Any ideas as to whether or not they will get more "golden" if I leave them on longer? I'm fine with picking them now if it will mean more peppers on the plant later. What do you think?

Thanks,
Ken

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Do these yellow bell peppers look ready to pick?

Thats a fine looking plant you have there! They look golden to me? But im a noobie at pepper growing though, more experienced guys know better !

But i would have them eaten by now though lol.

Arthur.

o

I dont want to pick them. they look too good. I want to pull up a chair and just admire them.

not sure on the color. they might get some more color.

Jean Andrews says the seeds mature a month after the pepper makes color. I think you can allow the peppers to sit for a little longer on the plant and ripen some more if you want. they should develop more flavor and more sweetness. but if you want one for dinner go pick it. I usually leave them on the plant until i am ready to use them. but then I dont have that many peppers that they last very long anyway.

o

I'm with O N -pick one now and tell us how it tastes. I usually try them at different stages and certainly couldn't wait for them all to be fully ripe.

John

o

They look beautiful. I don't know if I could ever grow bell peppers that look so healthy! I haven't been too successful with bell peppers in Michigan. Go for it...eat a few. I would.

Chris

o

They look beautiful. I don't know if I could ever grow bell peppers that look so healthy! I haven't been too successful with bell peppers in Michigan. Go for it...eat a few. I would.

Chris