Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
howelbama

First time starting peppers from seed, am I on track?

howelbama
10 years ago

Hi,

I grow peppers, both sweet and hot, every year from transplants. This is my first year trying any from seed. On a whim I decided to buy some scorpion seeds from seedrack. I decided to germinate 4 and all were successful, the first one came up in 12 days, on 4/24.

I know I'm getting off to a late start, but I'm am doing what I can with lights to try and accelerate their growth a bit. A couple of the seedlings are starting to push out their second set of true leaves, and I think there will be enough roots in a day or so to pot them up a bit, but they are still very tiny seedlings...

So, do you think I can get these guys to produce this season? I'm thinking I'll do these in containers so I can extend their season if needed by bringing them in. I also think I'm going to try to overwinter one or two, maybe do a pepper "bonsai" with one at the end of the summer.

Any thoughts are appreciated.

Comments (19)

• PepperGuy222
    10 years ago

I think personally youre off to a great start. Last year I planted hot hungarian wax from seed around 5/4 and they produced very good. Youre on the right track, keep it up!

• hillseeker
    10 years ago

Love your stick method of marking the dates! I personally don't like the jiffy pots for superhots as they retain too much moisture but your peppers look great. I planted my scorpions in January as they do grow slow. Hope it grows quickly for you or you can bring it in to finish in the fall.

• howelbama
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks, it's just a little toothpick with a flag made from a piece of white duct tape lol.. does the job pretty well.

• junkmanme
    10 years ago

Growing peppers from seed is exactly like growing tomatoes from seed. Ater 8-10 weeks, the seedlings will be ready to transplant outdoors...if the soil is warm enough overnight. (above 50 degrees, I'd say)