Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scgreenthumb1987

How much lime to use

scgreenthumb1987
9 years ago

I just mulched my garden with pine straw. About 6in deep. I've read that pine straw adds way to much acid to the soil and I'll need lime to counteract it. Seeing as I have a friend who works at a local fertilizer plant I told him I'd need a little. Well I was given three 5 gallon buckets of lime. I've never used it before and hoping someone can tell me how much to use.

My garden is 5000 square foot

Comments (11)

• cold_weather_is_evil
    9 years ago

The standard answer is going to be "what happened when you had your soil tested"? It's a pretty good answer.

However, there's one conceptual mistake I see here. You have mulched with pine straw and that's a lot different than you amending or digging the stuff in. Mulch is really only an insulating cover. It's not part of the soil. Where it just barely touches the damp soil it is trying to become compost and it's trying to do it incredibly slowly. For the most part it's having no effect on your soil acidity.

Id suggest waiting. If not for the results of a (formal or informal) soil test, then for the plants to give you some indication of what you need. Just adding lime for the guess of it is often not a good idea.

Don't throw the lime away, though.

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    9 years ago

I agree with Cold Weather.

Secondly, is it Dolomitic Garden Lime?

Josh

• scgreenthumb1987
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Ah ok. See this is why I ask yall on this forum before doing something I'm unsure of lol.

Soil has never been tested.

Dunno what kind of lime it is. He said the country club buys it all the time for the golf course.

• seysonn
    9 years ago