Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sbellotti84

Jolokia fertilizer quesstion

sbellotti84
11 years ago

Hey all,

This is my first year planting a bhut and I'm going to be using a 5-7 gallon container for it. I will be moving it outside in a week or so into promix bx. My question is regarding fertilizing. I currently have an organic fert called Wegener's Liquid 8-6-6 which I have been using at 25% strength every few weeks. Would this suffice once the bhut is in it's final home outside? I know the nitrogen is a tad bit higher than the P and K but maybe it's not that high in comparison to other's I've seen. I also have a mixture of 5 different types of compost and manures leftover from my square foot garden. Which would be more beneficial? 8-6-6 organic or mixture of compost/manure? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Steve

p.s

I failed to mention what some of the ingredients were in the 8-6-6 fert.

8% nitrogen

-2% ammoniacal nitrogen

-1%nitrate nitrogen

-5% water insoluble nitrogen

phosphate - 6%

potash - 6%

calcium - 1.3%

sulphur - 2.7%

cobalt - 0.0010%

molybdenum - 0.0119%

sodium - 0.3%

Derived from: Fish, sugar beet extract. molybdate sulphate, cobalt sulfate.

Ill attach some pictures too.

[IMG]http://i47.tinypic.com/5mjro.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]http://i48.tinypic.com/2v9aywz.jpg[/IMG]

Comments (9)

• User
    11 years ago

Your plant looks nice and happy. I think you'll be fine continuing as you are. Your fert has a reasonably balanced N-P-K as well as essential micro nutrients.

Your composts and manures would also work but they take longer to break down to a point where the plant can use them.

Personally, this year I'm watering with a powdered fert diluted to roughly 4-2-4 every second water. I also top dress with 1/2 - 1 inch of compost.

FWIW,

Bill

• sbellotti84
    Original Author
    11 years ago