Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
steven1032

stopping flower drop

steven1032
11 years ago

i know the heat causes flower drop. question is, is there anything i can do to stop it to get some peppers. especially with chocolate habaneros. i have heard these peppers are good. i have yet to even try one since planting and am excited about trying one. it is mid 90s here. i have a shade cloth over some of my other peppers. they are prolific. i am wondering if that will help.

nay suggestions

Comments (8)

• esox07 (4b) Wisconsin
    11 years ago

Shade cloth should help. If your peppers are in containers, just move them to a shaded area. Otherwise, you will just have to wait it out. When the plants are ready, they will likely start blooming and setting fruit fast at that point.
    Bruce

• steven1032
    Original Author
    11 years ago

what about chocolate habaneros. how fast do they grow? have you ever tried growing them? this is my first year. im growing ghost peppers and they are growing prolifically. i did use shade cloth over my habs and they did produce abundunce of them. just got to find a way to move the structure.

• tsheets
    11 years ago

Chocolate habs are not much different than regular habs or ghosts. Maybe not quite as prolific, but, still a decent amount of pods. Growth rate is similar to the others as well.

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    11 years ago

Just be patient.
    The plants won't set fruit until they're good and ready.
    This is my third year growing the Chocolate Hab and they are slow like the other hots/superhots.
    But what a unique flavor and aroma. Not only are they the hottest Habañeros that I've had,
    but I think they taste better than the orange and red Habs.

Last year, my first pod set toward the end of July. I picked the first pod September 17.
    The year before, I harvested around the first week of September. That was in-ground, though,