Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nels_gw

Cayenne Peppers - When should I harvest?

Nels
18 years ago

I have a small plant that has about 5 peppers growing. 3 of them are about 4-7 inches long but still very green. are these supposed to turn red before I cut them, or shall I cut them now to reduce the weight of the plant. This is my first time growing Cayenne Reds. My Banana's and Jalepeno's are all growing in the same pot, if that makes a difference. Both are also growing well, but I have experience with those.

Thanks, Bob

Comments (37)

• opqdan
    18 years ago

Pick cayenne peppers when they are red.

All three plants are in the same pot? How big is this pot?

• Nels
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Pot is very big probably about 4 foot diameter. 3 feet deep.

Thanks for the advice, I appreciate it.

• opqdan
    18 years ago

That's a big pot.

• UncleJohn
    18 years ago

You may want to pick your early peppers before they are ripened. Peppers will stop producing once their fruit starts to reach full maturity.

• Todd_In_Texas
    18 years ago

I wait until mine turn red. I just brought in a big bucket full of the red ones yesterday after work and strung them up do dry. Good stuff.

-Todd

• phantome
    18 years ago

I'm glad someone else asked about when to pick. I am also growing cayenne for the first time. I can't wait for the little buggers to mature. I have a friend who loves hot peppers so we're going to have an eating contest when they're ready. lol I'll make sure I have plenty of antacids on hand.

• Ognyen
    18 years ago

Check 'em out green, too. I've read, and experienced, there's not much heat or taste difference with cayennes --only a color difference. If you don't have to have traditionally-red pepper, go for the green!

Jalapenos, however, take on a great fruity taste if they're allowed to turn red. I love to sweet-pickle 'em. Pickle only the meat. Save the cores and seeds for drying and powdering. Makes great cookies!

• opqdan