Return to the Hot Pepper Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Topping pepper plant (a question)

Posted by Sromkie 9 - Central FL (My Page) on
Tue, Jun 18, 13 at 11:23

I was reading some posts here yesterday and someone said they hadn't "topped" a plant yet. I am new to all this pepper growing stuff, but the term gave me a pretty good idea of meaning. I did a Google search just to be sure I understood the concept and to learn the purpose. Now that I have, I've got a question:

Everything I read (and all the videos I watched) about topping a plant were in reference to young pepper plants (before they get tall and unwieldy). So, is it too late for me to top a plant that's a few feet tall and has been in the ground since November, or is it still worth doing? If I should still do it, how far down would I go? The plant has several pods on it now and I wouldn't want to lose any, but if I can make it a higher yielding and stronger plant, I'll do what I need to.

I've attached a picture of the plant (It's actually two that sprouted together and I forgot to separate. The smaller of the two isn't producing anything yet... should I just cut that one to the ground so they two aren't competing?)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Topping pepper plant (a question)

You can top a plant at anytime. It will encourage the plant to grow wider and easier to handle with the nasty evening storms we get in Florida. I see the perfect spot to top that baby. But then you will loose a nice pod or two. I would stake it up and ride it out. I usually wait till December or Janauary to top my plants. Really kick starts them so come spring they fill out and produce more peppers.

o