Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dfw_gardener

Blossom end rot blues

dfw_gardener
11 years ago

So many peppers lost, frustrating and sad.

Comments (28)

• habjolokia z 6b/7
    11 years ago

Calcium should fix, have you used any ferts recently?

• tsheets
    11 years ago

I hear ya! I had a bunch of cayennes last year that did exactly the same thing. It was weird - same seed stock has had little to no problems in previous years, and no other peppers had this problem last year. As productive as those 6-4 plants seem to be, hopefully, you'll still get a bunch of good ones! They say that uneven watering can contribute to BER. Sometimes it just seems like some plants are more susceptible than others. I've been culling super marzano tomatoes like crazy due to BER. No one else...just that one variety.

• tybonium
    11 years ago

I am having a similar issue, and thought it might be BER. It's my first year gardening, and I haven't see this before. All my other peppers are fine, but all the hot banana peppers are starting to turn brown.

Should I just cut them all off and add calcium? They are in a self watering container (DIY earth box type), so watering shouldn't be an issue. We did just hit triple digits so maybe add more mulch?

Thanks for any help with this. I have already learned so much just searching the forums!

Tylina

Here is a link that might be useful: Gardening Photo album

• tsheets
    11 years ago

Yep, looks like BER.

I've never had to apply calcium so don't know a lot about it except that bone meal takes a while to break down. So, using something that more readily available for the plant to take up would be preferred. Or, it may just grow out of it. It is fairly common for early fruit to have BER but later fruit be just fine. At least that's the case with tomatoes. I assume the same would be true for peppers.

• northerner_on
    11 years ago