Return to the Hot Pepper Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Pepper plants not growing well.

Posted by cobra1713 So Cal high Desert (My Page) on
Tue, Jun 19, 12 at 16:05

Hello,

this is my first time planting peppers and some of them are not doing well. They are mostly hot and sweet banana papers. They are in containers (12" black nursery pots), half of them are growing well (very thick plants and bearing frut) the other half are not growing many leaves and loosing the leaves on the bottom half of the plant. I heard this could be due to over watering the plants but I water them all the same
and half are doing great.

I think the issue could be the soil. I used organic choice MG for some and left over bulk cheap soil on the rest. I am fertilizing with organic fish fertilizers and a 6-10-10 mix at different times of coarse.

Any ideas as to how to get them to grow stronger and fuller leaves? I ask because they are only producing about one fruit each, I think because there are only leaves on the top 1/4 of the plant.

Thanks

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Pepper plants not growing well.

Don't guess on the watering. Let the plant tell you that it needs water by drooping leaves. (Observed when it's cool, not in the heat of the day.) It could be that one type of soil is retaining more water than the other type, causing you to over-water some even when you "water them all the same".

Get to the point where you *know* that they're getting the right amount of water. Then we can talk about other steps.

Also, moisture probes are really inexpensive. You might pick one up next time you're at the store.

Dennis

o

I agree.
You could also put a wooden kabob skewer into the pot to determine if the soil is drying.

I would use a higher Nitrogen fertilizer. No plant that I know of uses NPK in a 6-10-10 ratio.

In the garden, I'm using standard Fish Emulsion, 5-1-1 ratio.

Josh

o

I will take your suggestions and report back.