Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thaumaturge

Saving Pepper Seeds and reducing cross pollination

thaumaturge
17 years ago

I'm a beginner pepper grower, and I would like to save my seeds for next year. I've also read that pepper seeds can cross pollinate. I don't have enough space to separate plants enough to make sure they don't cross pollinate. So, the question I have is weather or not there is a way to isolate one or two peppers/flowers on each plant so they don't cross pollinate? If so, what is the best method, or at least the one you use?

I'm growing Anaheim (I don't think this is one of the hybrid Anaheim peppers, but I'm not certain) Garden Salsa (I know, a hybrid, so useless for saving seeds), Hungarian Yellow Wax, and Early Jalapeño (Is this a hybrid too?) I also ordered seeds for a Thai Sun. Does any one know if the Thai Sun is the same as the Thai Hot?

Thanks!

Comments (10)

• opqdan
    17 years ago

Since pepper flowers are capable of pollinating themselves, chaances are they they get pollinated soon after they open, before a different cultivar can cross with them. It is already fairly rare.

To guarantee that crosses do not occur, you can bag the blossom with any number of materials. I have heard of people making little bags out of toole (a type of fine netlike fabric). You could probably also use some sort of women's nylons. Don't use a plastic bag though, as it may overheat and it traps moisture.

As soon as the flower shows signs of a pepper, you can remove the bag, just mark the pepper to ensure you remember which one it is.

• john47_johnf
    17 years ago

Agree, jt--crossing is not rare. Nicely illustrated as usual.

johnf

• koolguymike
    17 years ago

This year I made my own bags like JohnT. was pretty easy to do.

Michael

• organic_nut
    17 years ago

John super great pictures.

I learned more in a few minutes looking at your pictures than in years of reading about it.

Nice job.

I have to get some material as soon as possible.