Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bob_jackson_gw

Moruga Scorpion seedling leaves changing color

Bob.Jackson
9 years ago

Hello, I'm attempting to grow Moruga Scorpion peppers from seed this year. I have grown other vegetables before, but this is my first time with these peppers. I have been reading this forum a lot lately to get tips on growing these peppers, but I'm having a problem that I haven't come across yet on this forum.

First off, some of my original seedlings died because they were way too leggy and then got too hot in the sun. I bought a T5HO fluorescent light and put the remaining plants under that, which helped a lot. The seedlings are indoor, about 2-4 inches from the light. The temperature used to drop to around 65-68 at night (for the first couple weeks), but now it never drops below 70. Daytime temp is around 70-80.

About two weeks ago, the leaves on one seedling started to turn a dark purple/brown colour. The leaves still looked thick and healthy though. In the last few days I have noticed that the two other seedlings that were started earlier have started to do the same thing. They were planted in a peat/vermiculite/compost mix and I went to give them a bit of 4-4-4 fertilizer today (for the first time).

I touched one the leaves on the purple/brown plant and it just fell off. I touched the other few leaves (extremely lightly) and they also fell off.

Because the other two plants are starting to get this look, I'm worried that they will fall apart too. The top of the soil had a bit of white mold on it, which I scraped off a few days ago, and I haven't seen any type of insects around the seedlings.

Also, the stems of the two larger seedlings look like they are split open a few spots. The split is not wet and doesn't seem to be affecting the surrounding stem.

Does anyone have any idea what the problem is? Is this leaf coloring normal?

Thank you in advance to anybody who has any ideas.

Comments (14)

• Bob.Jackson
    Original Author