Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
john11840

Fertilizing Potted Pepper Plants

John A
17 years ago

This is my first year to try raising pepper plants in pots. What should I use for fertilizer and how often? I was thinking of using MG, but when I look at the lable on the container I noticed it was a 15-30-15. That seems too strong to me. What do the rest of you pot-growers use?

John

Comments (13)

• threeducks
    17 years ago

I normally mix in a bunch of Rosetone with the soil, but that's only because I have a lot of that laying around from my rose growing. Otherwise, it's Miracle Gro. If you think 15-30-15 is too hot, you can always dilute it to whatever ratio you like by adding more water.

• cmpman1974
    17 years ago

I use half strength fish emulsion / seaweed emulsion mix.

Chris

• mister_al
    17 years ago

I usually mix 1 teaspoon of Miracle-Gro (15-30-15) in a Gallon of water and use it each time my plants need watering. Or, sometimes I may mix a rounded Tablespoon of Miracle-Gro in a five gallon bucket of water. This works out to about 4 teaspoons of plant food for five gallons of water.

Alan

• chuck
    17 years ago