Return to the Hot Pepper Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
hail!!!!

Posted by peppernovice 7 b (My Page) on
Mon, Jul 2, 12 at 2:20

Hail damaged several of my plants when we had a round of severe weather around 5:30 pm today. I did my best to pick up the pieces and repair the plants the best I could. It's now 2 am and we're getting heavy rains. I'm not sure my plants can survive another round. This is my first year growing chile plants from seeds and I'm afraid after tonight, I'll have nothing left. It wouldn't be so bad, but we've had very hot weather over the past week, and my plants were really taking off. I guess that's just how it goes!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: hail!!!!

I feel for you buddy. Hail is the one least predictable thing about gardening. Maybe you can salvage your plants with a little pruning. At least you know hail is almost like lightening, not too many times does it strike in the same place.

o

I'm right down the road from you near Bragg. Both my daughters got hail at their places, one pea sized and one golf ball sized. I'm right in the middle of them and I got nodda. Heck of a season of heat and storms.

Anywise, if yours don't survive, I seriously have plants to share from Naga, hot kil, to more mild. I plan on having a seed/plant exchange at my place end of July/early August...let me know if your interested.

But hopefully all yours will bounce back!

o

Thanks for the kind words rockguy. Thank you Lorabell for the offer. I'm amazed by the kindness and sincerity of the people who congregate here. I have some ugly plants this morning, but they are all still alive. I hope they can recover. Several of them lost branches and leaves. I know plants are extremely resilient, so hopefully in a week or two, I'll be back on track. By the way, I had 2 brothers in the army. They were at several places, but I think they spent most of their time at Fort Hood in Texas. I was in the USMC and spent virtually all my time at Camp Lejune.

o