Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
northerner_on

Critter ate my first Jalapeno

northerner_on
15 years ago

This is my first year growing Jalapeno peppers and the plant was doing well and had about 3 peppers on it. I went out to harvest the first one, which I expected to be ready, and IT WAS GONE. The whole thing was gone, and you could see it was taken off from fairly far up the stem. I looked around thinking it tempted some animal and would be left nearby, but it was apparently eaten. Are there any critters around which would find Jalapenos palatable? They're not that hot, but I have grown milder and hotter peppers and they have not been bothered. The only things around my yard these days are squirrels, and some wild cats which are a nuisance. Have not seen ground hogs, raccoons, or skunks since our neighbour (who used to feed them) moved about 5 years ago, so it's puzzling. I don't want to have to fence the garden off. Any ideas?

Northerner.

Comments (14)

• city_tomato
    15 years ago

Neighbors...

• smokemaster_2007
    15 years ago

Birds do that to me.
    I went out to check my garden,the Italian Gourmet were ready(6 inch+ long).
    I went inside,grabbed the scisors and decided to mix up a batch of fertilizer and went back outside.
    9 peppers were completely gone in 30-45 min.
    Next day all my Chile Negro,Fresno,Gypsy,Floral gem and bannana peppers were gone.out of all only 1 was left half eaten on the plant.
    Several pods were full of pecking holes from the bird (the hotter peppers) and a couple pods had all the seeds removed through a slit the bird pecked the length of the pods.
    The bird must have a sweet tooth,it ate mostly the mild and all the sweet peppers.Eats the sweets only when they are ripe.
    Hasn't bothered any hots or super hots-not sweet enough I guess.They aren't bothered by caspacion(sp?) so it must be the sweet it likes.