Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sam_hawkins_gw

Mottle Virus??!! :(

Sam_Hawkins
10 years ago

Hi guys!
I have been following this forum for a while since I am a novice hot pepper grower, this year growing my first peppers.

I have noticed some curling in new leaves on some of my plants so i wanted to ask someone who has experience with Pepper Mild Mottle Virus (PMMoV) if this is the case.

As you can see, I have topped them a few weeks ago.

Also, I should note that I failed to distinguish my plants when planting, there could be some habaneros, bell peppers, jalapenos...

I water them every other day, feed them with 5-5-5 fert once a week accompanied by crystalic fert containing the trace elements...

Below are pictures of 3 of my plants. The first one is what I am concerned the most about - The leaves are curled the most, the plant is smaller and sprouts A LOT of new leaves (I thought it was due to the topping). It also shows some brown spots on the new-grown leaves. The old ones are all fine though.
The second one is kinda yellowing and possibly showing some signs of yellowing patterns on the leaves. The yellowing could also be a problem with feeding/watering.
The third one is just sprouting quite a bit new curly-leaves at the top.

Excuse me, I am a begginner so I dunno if it is normal or not...From what I read It could also be a calcium defficiency...

To the pictures
1) 2)The first plant, the curly leaves
3) A lot of new leaves sprouting
4) Brown spots
5) 6) 7) Second plant, yellow leaves (also notice dark red stem)
8) The third plant, small curly leaves
9) Overview of the 3 plants

Please if anyone has experience with the PMMoV, please let me know.

Thanks!

Here is a link that might be useful: Photos of the plants

Comments (6)

• jean001a
    10 years ago

Virus seldom hits all plants.
    Not calcium deficiency. That would kill new leaves.
    Suspect the regular doses of trace elements is excessive.