Return to the Hot Pepper Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Bell peppers- are they also perennials?

Posted by noamsmom Israel (My Page) on
Tue, Jul 10, 07 at 8:13

I know they're not strictly *hot* peppers, but I thought I might get more answers here than on the veggie forum. We only rarely get frost here, and I understand hot peppers can be treated as /are perennials. Is it possible to overwinter bell peppers outside and have viable peppers next year as well?

Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Bell peppers- are they also perennials?

All peppers are perennials. I have not tried overwintering bells but I don't see why not.

john

o

• Posted by jonv 4b to 5a (My Page) on
    Tue, Jul 10, 07 at 16:27

well im in omaha and the winter gets pretty damn cold....im new to gardening, and maybe this is a bone head question. what is over winter?....or what do i have to do to the plants?

o

Bring them inside! :)

o

Well, John F and I are waaaayyyyy north of Omaha and we both overwinter chiles inside with success.

Grow the chile in a pot during the summer and when cold weather comes, prune the plant back and bring it inside the house. Keep it warm and give it as much light as you can.

The chile will flower and fruit much earlier next summer.

o

LOL.......i thought you all meant i could leave the plants outside!!!.....hahaha i thought there is no way these suckers will make it through the winter no matter what i do to em

o

The original poster lives in Israel and ,perhaps does not have to deal with frost.

Johnf

o

Hi all