Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sunshinezone7

When do I harvest these?

SunshineZone7
10 years ago

These are a type of cayenne, turning red from green. How do I know when they are ready?

Comments (10)

• SunshineZone7
    Original Author
    10 years ago

These are black Hungarian, 1 is finally turning red, but how red do they need to get? I am new at peppers so I appreciate the insight :)

• romy6
    10 years ago

Once they ripen red pick them. That's when they have the best taste and heat!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• SunshineZone7
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Does it have to be a certain red....darker, lighter? If I wait to long to pick them will they rot or will they dry?

• esox07 (4b) Wisconsin
    10 years ago

Some peppers can stay on the plant, fully ripe (red) for a week, two weeks and be fine. Some will start to soften shortly after turning red. I would pick any pepper that is fully or near fully red. As far as taste and texture goes, you probably won't benefit from leaving them on the plant any longer. Even if they are not fully ripe (red) when you pick them, they normally will ripen within a day or two sitting in a plate on the counter. I just picked a few cayennes and one had ripened over a week ago. It is already soft, just one day after picking.

• SunshineZone7
    Original Author
    10 years ago

How long will these last after picking and how do you store them? Thanks again!

• habjolokia z 6b/7
    10 years ago

From picking they will last from a few days to a week or so then go soft and start to break down if not starting to mold.

Depends on the use, how you store. Slice in 1/2 and dry for powder and flakes. Cut into slices and Pickle. Create a hot sauce. The least useable way by that i mean after thawing it would be mush so best used cooked in a dish or soup, is to freeze them either whole or sliced in 1/2.