Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
papeppers

my fighting peppers

PaPeppers
10 years ago

Hello! I'm a first time grower, and by accident. My fiance's cousin works in a seed shop and I asked if she knows anyone who sells ghost peppers cheaply. well i got a nice two inch plant with about six leaves. I had to battle aphids for nearly a month, thanks to shell flour froma neighbor (about two weeks to notice anything) and an organic spray. Plus lots of squishing. On the plus side, been over a week since my last aphid!

Its in a hanging pot, easily drained. my soil consists of primarily Miracle Grow (for orchids) that allow easy drain. It hangs at the edge of the porch so with minor wind the rain will get it. Next door has a sucessful vegetable garden and i see bees, despite living in the city. It's hot so I'm tring to keep up watering, but I'm falling behind.

Now that my pest problem is gone, how long till i start seeing flowers and hopefully peppers? This is my first attempt at growing anything. Pictures soon to follow

Comments (27)

• PaPeppers
    Original Author
    10 years ago

gave it some more water and already perking up. In tring to not overwatering, i went a little skimpy. I got it as a small plant with six leaves about a month ago. Going to get a bigger pot after work tonight.

• habjolokia z 6b/7
    10 years ago

Great job on winning the battle with aphids, I can't stand them. Your plant looks great, and I agree get it into a bigger pot. From the looks of the plant it's headed in the right direction very healthy. It may not be until late July or Aug/Sept that you see flowers/pods.

Mark

• peppernovice
    10 years ago