Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
heatmiser_gw

Smoking Green Jalapenos?

HeatMiser
11 years ago

I'm new to smoking peppers. I've got a bumper crop of Jalapenos I had planned on pickling, but I don't have that sort of time at the moment. I was thinking of smoking them, then drying them. Obviously it'll still take a good amount of time, but I can get other stuff done while the smoker is doing it's thing. My question is, has anyone smoked green jalapenos before? I know chipotles are smoked when the peppers are red so I imagine that these would have a completely different flavor, but I'd prefer not to just let them go to waste.

Also, if anyone has done this before, do they have suggestions for smoking them? Temp, time, do they need to be sitting on foil or something, what type of wood to use, etc.

Comments (13)

• ottawapepper
    11 years ago

I have smoked green Jalapenos and do not find anything wrong with their flavor, slightly different that the red but good none the less.

Cold smoking is the traditional method but hot (warm) smoking works well. Before I offer any suggestions what kind of smoking setup do you have? A true smoker or a pouch of chips on a gas grill or a ...?

• HeatMiser
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I just have a metal box insert for my propane grill.

• ottawapepper
    11 years ago

OK, hopefully you have more than one burner. The trick for you is going to be keeping the temperature low enough so you don't cook/roast the peppers.

Assuming you have at least two burners (left and right) you'll need to light one side and place your smoker box on that burner. You will use the non-lit side to sort of indirectly warm smoke your Jalapenos.

I recommend you top and slice your pods in half length wise. This will speed up the smoke absorption. Whether you de-seed or not is up to you, I don't bother removing them.