Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kuvaszlvr

best equipment for making chile powder

kuvaszlvr
10 years ago

I seem to remember several of you saying that you use coffee grinders to make your chile powder... is that correct? I tried my blender, it was ok, not great. I don't drink coffee so I have no experience with coffee grinders. But, I plan to dry more peppers this year and grind up for powder (along with several bags of peppers from last year). So, would my best bet to buy a coffee grinder?
Pam

Comments (21)

• Armageddon
    10 years ago

yes they work well for the job i have 5 of them .

• esox07 (4b) Wisconsin
    10 years ago

Yes, I use a coffee grinder. I have one for coffee and one for peppers (For obvious reasons). Cut the peppers open, dry them in a dehydrator or air dry. Then put them in a grinder and you have pepper powder. I suggest some of the varieties with thinner skins such as cayenne, Habanero, and most of the super hots. They dry and grind better but you can use any pepper really.
    There is no need to invest a whole lot in a special grinder. A $15 coffee grinder is all you need.
    Bruce

• mctiggs
    10 years ago

And a gas mask. Whatever you do, don't open the lid and deeply savour the aroma.

• habjolokia z 6b/7
    10 years ago

Yes coffee grinder is the way to go. This is the one I use and it works great nothing fancy.

• kuvaszlvr
    Original Author
    10 years ago

thanks guys, that powder looks a lot better than the stuff I made, although I left the seeds in. That powder looks gorgeous.

haha, yeah, I know better mctiggs, actually, I just let it sit a long time (at least when I used the blender) before opening. Heck, even when I slice up peppers they can make me cough. Seems silly to like something so much when it causes such great pain. ;-)
    Pam

• mbellot
    10 years ago

If your blender has a screw on base type (like mine) then you might have the best option.