Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
homefry319

Smooth Bhuts

homefry319
11 years ago

So I have 1 bhut plant this year thats all smooth, and it looks almost like a habanero the seeds were ordered from pepperjoe.com and Im getting mixed results, I do have a plant on it second year that I over wintered that I know is true and a few clones off it. Im also seeing a scorpion tail on what is spouse to be a bhut

image of the smooth skinned

image of the scorpion tail plant, theres a smaller pepper that almost an exact scorpion tail(not in the photo)

as Im typing this I got a reply from pepper joes says that some of the smaller bhuts can be smooth, but Im still confused we'll see how the rest of them turn out, unfortunately there with a few yellows and the tags all got washed off..

I do have 2 "butch t" set to the side and its my first time growing them n they don't seem to have the "scorpion tail" yet

also the yellow bhuts are looking large and wrinkly so not sure whats going on

has anyone else seen that much difference between plants?

Comments (15)

• habjolokia z 6b/7
    11 years ago

First pic is a Naga same family but not a Bhut. The second maybe a malformed pod what do the others look like? PepperJoes has been mixing the two seeds so you get a 50/50 chance it's a Naga or Bhut I don't think they know they are two different varieties. Young Bhuts skin tend to be smoother but the size of those you have pictured they would not be smooth at that point.

Mark

• robeb
    11 years ago

homefry,

Here's a thread that might interest you...

Here is a link that might be useful: previous discussion

• homefry319
    Original Author
    11 years ago

so heres a picture of that smaller pepper(original post second picture) Im pretty positive this is a scorpion though its spouse to be a bhut

and heres a picture of one of my clones(mother is from last year) that I know are bhuts