Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
euarto_gullible

Macedonian Heirloom- Rezha w/ pics

euarto_gullible
14 years ago

When ripe, they will turn red with a grayish cast from the horizontal striations. Have any of the experienced pepper growers on here seen peppers like these?

Comments (10)

• reyna1
    14 years ago

never seen anything like this!
    how is the flavor?

• euarto_gullible
    Original Author
    14 years ago

When I was in Macedonia, my friend would freeze them whole, and bring them out to roast in the wintertime. They had a rich, sweet-hot (very hot toward the top) flavor and tasted freshly roasted. The texture of the skin is grainier than a smooth skinned variety, but not unpleasant.
    This is my first year growing them in the US. I've looked hard online and found a couple Bulgarian varieties with horizontal striations, but those are smaller, brighter red, and not as heavily striated.
    The name, "Rezha" might be a village dialect name for this particular pepper. Two other sets of seeds that I grew from Macedonian villages were called "Zharena" and "Chudo." They ended up being what appears to be this same pepper with horizontal striations, though I'm not positive they have the same heat. The green ones I saw in Macedonia might also have been a different variety. I'm trying to find if other people have seen or grown these peppers before, because if not I'd like to introduce them to SSE. I've already looked through their 2009 yearbook and I didn't see anything I thought to be a match.

• vic01
    14 years ago

Those are interesting looking peppers, would love some seeds if you have any to spare in the future. Thanks. Jackie

• reyna1
    14 years ago

I would love to swap seeds with you if you have any that you are willing to trade -
    Danny

• trfanatic
    14 years ago

Yes.
    I didn't like the texture at all -- like bark and not very hot.

{{gwi:1191152}}

• euarto_gullible
    Original Author
    14 years ago