Return to the Hot Pepper Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Help identify?

Posted by CaliforniaGrowing 10SoCal (dodgerzfan805@gmail.com) on
Sun, Jul 27, 14 at 15:11

Hello this is my first post since becoming a member , and so far everyone has been super helpful and I have learned a lot just buy reading all of your posts! I am new to growing peppers. My friend just gave me a few of these pods and was hoping you guys could help me identify this pepper? Unfortunately I do not have a picture of the actual plant. Thank you guys!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Help identify?

Here's another picture.

o

I can try and get a picture of the plant if it's to hard to identify. Thanks

o

Pod doesn't look like anything I've grown.

o

Yes. A pic of the plant might narrow it down. I'm stumped a tad also.

o

Thanks DmForcier , I was told it is a native of mexico. Woohooman I will hopefully get a picture by tomorrow and post it here.

o

My friend was able to send me this picture of the pepper plant. He said his mother has had it a few years now. Any info about it will be greatly appeciated!

o

This looks like a chile pequin. I have relatives that live in Texas and these grow like wildfire. I also grew these and the bullet shaped little pods are very
similar.

Preston

o

I thought maybe goat pepper.
Randal

o

I was thinking Pequin too. I;m growing one, but have yet a mature pod, and I'm not sure of the size of the pods, since it's my 1st year growing one.

California: do the pods grow upright? Hard to see in that pic.

Kevin

o

Thank you for the info Preston , Randal , and Kevin! Kevin , from looking at the picture the pods are pointing down and not upwards. Would that eliminate pequins?

o

Yep.

Kevin

o

I googled goat pepper and pods look nothing alike. I'm stumped!

o

That looks like the same kind of pepper that I have asked for help to identify.

Old man of the garden

The fruit starts out sticking up and then ends up pointing down.