Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brewjolokia

Overwintering my Bhut Jolokia... Picture included...

BrewJolokia
9 years ago

So although it's only July, I want to ask about winterizing my ghost pepper plant now. I am new to growing hot peppers and noticed some people giving advice on this topic on other sites. They mention pruning the plant to its original y. But if you can see on my plant, it is actually more of a bush. I purchased the plant when it was about 6 inches tall and am thinking maybe it was a trimming with a root agent? The original "plant" is actually the branch with all the peppers on it and the other 4 branches basically all shot out of the base of the plant. I'm hopeful that those branches become full with peppers this year as they all have a single pepper at least on each. I have only pulled 2 peppers off the plant so far. But those were very large, about 4 inches each in fact. I guess my question(s) is do you all prune them down for the winter? What light source do you use if any? Do they go dormant much like a banana tree when I could cover them with a trash bag and water once a month? (That's about my only experience with overwintering). I appreciate the help in advance and will gladly post more pics if needed.

Comments (15)

• BrewJolokia
    Original Author
    9 years ago

A picture of the base to get a better idea that there isn't so much a "trunk".

• Persimmons
    9 years ago

Bump for this post, as I'm lucky to have a few Jolokia and Moruga scorpions growing that would be awesome to save..

I grow mine in the ground, and had intentions to heavily insulate with leaves or mulch in the winter time and immediately cover with a cold frame at the end of winter (to spike the temp for it)

• DMForcier
    9 years ago

You can't over winter in the ground in MO. You will have to dig them and put in pots.