Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jannonb

Ghost pepper bhut jolokia

jannonb
10 years ago

This is my first time growing this type of pepper is this a normal looking stalk and what kinda tips and tricks can any of you off to get the best peppers possibly thanks look forward to hearing back

Comments (2)

• DMForcier
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Well first thing, set the plant upright. They don't like trying to grow sideways.

• smokemaster_2007
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Looks like a sucking insect has attacked your plant.
    There are several that do that.
    Black dots are where they dug in.
    Problem is,the bugs spread diseases.
    I never figured out if the spots are black because of damage or some nasty disease spreading.
    Not good either way.
    I have noticed a lot of times the black seems to only be on certain branches.Others seem to be not effected.
    Maybe whatever got spread doesn't go throughout the whole plant,or it might depend on the particular plant.

I've had plants not hurt by the black spots,others almost died or did die eventually.
    Last year a swarm of some kind of mini beetle attacked a few plants.
    I forget what they were,real small brown,lady bug type looking beetles.
    When they mate they swarm....
    They were only around a few hours(they like other stuff better than peppers,but will suck juice from them if that is the only plants around).
    The nursery called them something like love beetles because they swarm when they mate and the ones you see are usually mating.
    They seemed to swarm,cover everything in the garden then disappear just as fast.
    Days latter my plants were covered with the black dots.
    I guess they like a meal after they mated...
    They LOVED my Horseradish Plant the best.\Nursey guy said they raise hell with Lettuce,greens etc.
    The leaves looked brown instead of green there were so many of them.