Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tehyajenz6

When will they turn red already?!

TehyaJenZ6
12 years ago

My cayennes are driving me nuts. This is my first time growing them and while they are producing like crazy, none have turned red yet!

There's several that seem to be full size and have been that way for a few weeks but there is no sign of any turning red. How long does it generally take for Cayennes to go from green to red once they've hit full size?

Comments (10)

• chile_freak
    12 years ago

the good news is I think you are almost done waiting, I am growing many cayennes this year and they set pods in the middle of may and I have been enjoying them for a little over a month so id say it took 3-4 weeks for them to ripen once they hit full size,and they are delicious fresh, just made some blueberry cayenne maple syrup w/ fresh north carolina blueberries this morning mmmmmmmmm delicious. good luck to you
    paul
    paul

• TehyaJenZ6
    Original Author
    12 years ago

OMG blueberry cayenne maple syrup sounds simply devine. Two of my favorite things put together, can you share the recipe?

• chile_freak
    12 years ago

Why sho.
    one of two ways to accomplishing this the easy way(which is more expensive)
    or the slightly more involved way(which is much cheaper)
    the easy way:
    4 cayenne peppers (deseeded and deplacentaed) diced
    1 cup blueberries
    1/2 cup water
    2 cups real maple syrup
    put the cayennes, blueberries and water into a small saucepot and heat on med heat for 10 mins or so should be getting pretty pasty about now. then add maple syrup and reduce heat cook for an additional 10 mins blend and strain
    the other way to do this:
    4 cayennes (deseeded deplacentaed)diced
    i cup blue berries
    2 cups water
    2 cups sugar
    2 tsps real maple extract