Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flo9_gw

Sweets are... ghosts aren't

flo9
9 years ago

This is my first year growing sweet and ghost peppers. My sweet peepers already have fruit and many flowers are blooming and loads of buds. I have 4 types of ghost peppers and it is totally nadda. They are just growing leaves, but no buds yet. I gave a few away I still had in cups and he told me his plants are doing the same as mine.

Is this normal? Do they take longer than sweets?? The only other thing that hasn't flowered yet in my garden are my two white dragon eggplants. I think that is what they're called. Might be a late producer... first time growing these, but all plants are growing healthier and fuller.

I have a container garden on my patio and plants receive East sunrise to about 3 p.m. I started using tomato tone almost 2 months ago and have seen great improvement with all plants.

Soil I used was potting soil, cow poo compost, perlite and peats moss, some organic food fertilizer. Everything is thriving great and so far no bug problems. All heirloom and organic plants.

Zone 7a ... many sunny days, also rain, but sun gets in on rainy days usually... 90's during day... 60's at night. I started all of my plants in 1st week of Feb indoors.

Comments (6)

• scgreenthumb1987
    9 years ago

dont fret. super hots are always slow. ive been picking bell, banana, cayenne, jalapenos, serranos.....and many others for about 2 months.

just picked my first superhot today. naga morich

• stoneys_fatali
    9 years ago

Yup, superhots are late to the party.
    My Ghost, Moruga Scorpion, and Fatali all have flowers but no pods yet.
    You'll get em soon. Don't overwater and shield your pots on hot days to avoid bud drop.

Stoney

• flo9
    Original Author
    9 years ago

How often should I water? I have been twice daily ( most days) since heat set in over 80. They're in containers... and shield at what temp? It's only been reaching low 90's tops lately.