Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hecknawh

habanero help

hecknawh
10 years ago

My hab seems to be having a problem. Its in a 2gal container with MG potting mix. I'm in middle TN and it has been unusually wet this summer. A few days ago after several rainy days brown spots and edges showed up on the leaves. The leaves are also drooping down toward the ground.
I'm a novice when it comes to gardening. Can anyone help me identify the problem, please?

P.s. If the pic isn't showing up well, I'll be happy to take more to post.

Comments (12)

• hecknawh
    Original Author
    10 years ago

A few additional photos.

• hecknawh
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Last one.

• woohooman San Diego CA zone 10a
    10 years ago

Try taking one with less sunlight. Kinda hard to see what you're concerned about.

Kevin

• peppernovice
    10 years ago

I see the spots on your leaves. You most likely are suffering from too much water. MG soil retains a lot of water compared to what most of us use for medium. I suggest you research 5-1-1 and think about using it next year. It's a medium you make yourself from some simple ingredients. It drains fast to prevent your plants from sitting in water. For this year, unless you want to re-pot with better medium, I'd grab a 1 1/2" to 2" butterfly bit and put at least one hole about an inch up in the bottom of your pot. This will allow the water to drain quicker. I'm still new to this, so someone else with more experience will hopefully have some better advice to offer. Good Luck!

Tim

• sjetski
    10 years ago

Either bacterial or fungal infections, could be both, hard to tell from the pictures. I bet it's more common this year.