Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bigoledude

Help me choose a good sweet/mild pepper

bigoledude
10 years ago

I have been gardening for many years. The last few years have been horrible for growing bell peppers. Many of the regular gardeners never came back after the devastation from hurricane Katrina. So, the number of old contacts or gardener-friends has declined dramatically for me.

The few gardeners I do talk with have experienced similar failure with the bell type peppers. I have not attempted a fall pepper garden. And, none of the few gardeners I've talked with either.

Maybe the cooler temps of the late-season peppers would be more productive?

Several of my grandchildren love munching on sweet peppers. We also cook with, pickle and make our own sauces and powders.

Anyway, what are some other sweet or mild peppers I might try? I have seeds for several. Just curious as to what is y'alls opinion on the most prolific and best tasting of the sweet peppers?

Comments (21)

• scgreenthumb1987
    10 years ago

Personally I like banana peppers. Plus they've always been a heavy producer for me. Four plants this year and already have 50 jars put up plus my wife eats them faster than I can can them Lol.

• bigoledude
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Yes, banana peppers are a perennial favorite here! EVERY grandkid that eats fresh peppers will check the Banana pepper bushes first.

The fact that the kids like fresh peppers is what has me searching for other sweet peppers.

They are one of the few peppers that taste great even before completely ripening.

I would like to try the "Bounty" and the "Banana Supreme" to see if their production and flavor surpasses that of the old standby "Sweet Banana"?

This pepper is a "workhorse" in the truest sense of garden super performers!

• farmerdill
    10 years ago