Return to the Hot Pepper Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Holy Moles--recipes, anyone?

Posted by kathy9norcal CA 9 (My Page) on
Wed, Aug 27, 14 at 2:13

I just couldn't resist buying this plant because of the name and because it had such a nice pepper already on it. They are long and thin, about 6-7 inches, and turn brownish when ripe. They grow very fast, too.
Has anyone used these in recipes?
(I am sort of embarrassed at admitting I bought this but I am a newbie. I am pretty sure it is not a hot pepper, either.)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Holy Moles--recipes, anyone?

HM is very similar to Chilaca, if not the same thing. Dried one I think is called Pasilla.So it is used as dry pepper. It has alot more flavor when dried, IMO. I grew it last year and I am growing it again. And I intend to air dry them when ripe.

o

Recent thread on this. Dry and grind then use w/ancho powder and cascabel powder for a more authentic Chile powder.
May also use Guajillo and Chile Dr Arbor.
It's traditional use is in a mole sauce.

o

I've been growing them for years. My favorite use, dry them, rehydrate (yes, Kevin, I said rehydrate ;-) you have convinced me), blend till smooth, and add to chili... it's wonderful in chili. Or, if you have 20-30 hrs make an authentic mole sauce. ;-)
Pam

o

Great info. I never dried chile peppers before. I am guessing we can use our food dehydrator or low temps in the oven. I will do a search for more info on the process.
Does mole sauce really take that long??

o

Pasilla is a staple in moles from Oaxaca and/or other places.

o

;-) Kathy, look up a traditional recipe... yeah, I exaggerated, but sheesh, the ingredients list can take 2 pages.
Here's one recipe:

http://www.macheesmo.com/2012/04/holy-mole/

a bit less involved:
http://mexicanfood.about.com/od/supersalsas/r/Mole.htm

o

Chilaca/holy Mole ca be air dried b stringing and hanging. But I suppose dehydrator can be better and faster.

o