Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marckusd

Wilted Bhut Jolokia

marckusd
11 years ago

Hi everyone! I am new to growing bhuts and i have run into a problem with my bhut plant. After a tough growth, i would say, (it started producing pods after about 7 months from planting the seed)it now has started to wilt, but not the whole plant, just one side of it. The leaves stay green but shrivel and eventually fall of. I have cut of the part of the plant that has wilted as i believe it had died(it was dried up). The remaining part of the plant wilts during the mid day heat but recovers as soon as the sun goes down. These symptoms firs started about 4 weeks ago after it produced the first pod. This coincided with a heat wave (about 42 degrees C)and during this hot period i watered it a bit more. It is planted in my green house, in the ground and is shaded by tomato plants. It has produced pods but one was on the parts I cut away. It has 2 more baby bhuts that seem to grow just fine. Recently (3-4 days) all the peppers in my green house have started to wilt, but not to the degree the bhut has. The heat wave was followed by a cold period about 12 degrees C at night, but the plants, as they were in the green house did not experience these lows. I would say the temps inside went down to around 16-18 C. Could you give me some advice please ! Thank you!

Comments (6)

• capoman
    11 years ago

Wilting has many causes. One side dying off is a good clue though. It could indicate a stem borer, or a fungal disease. Check the stem for a reddish or brownish color inside. If so you likely have a fungal disease such and there's not much you can do. Check for small larva or their excrement or bore holes. If you can find one, you can actually cut the stem lengthwise and kill the borer and then tape up the wound.