Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
peppernovice

Rain galore...healthy plants.

peppernovice
10 years ago

Am I the only one who has noticed that despite the fact we have had one of the wettest summers on record, their plants look great? I was under the impression that this year was going to be a wash. I didn't think my plants would be able to handle the amount of rain we have received. It appears to be the opposite. My potted plants and my in ground plants are all doing great with high yields. Do you guys think it's possible we need to rethink our view on pepper plants and how much water they require? I would love to hear opinions from the more experienced growers. I know you guys have been around a while and probably have seen wet and dry seasons. I'm still new with only a couple years experience. I could be completely wrong, but I think it's worth discussing.

Tim

Comments (6)

• leafericson
    10 years ago

Tim, where are you located? I'm in Northern New Jersey. We have seen a lot of rain this year. Pepper plants are doing very well but tomatoes, melons, squash and cucumbers all have bacterial spot badly. I have removed all the cucumber, melon and squash plants with no harvest for this year. Tomatoes are producing well but they look very bad with all the bacterial spot.
    But like you said, the pepper plants seem to love this. Although it may be b/c I have used a better more well drained soil mix for them.
    -Eric-

• peppernovice
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I'm also on the East Coast. I'm in North Carolina.

Tim

• esox07 (4b) Wisconsin
    10 years ago