Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
justify_gw

Chilli leaves turning shiny-brown! Pls help!

Justify
9 years ago

Hi folks

I'm a newbie chili grower and I've just discovered that my prized plants seem to be dying - or atleast going through something aweful! :-/

Background:

My plants are growing indoors in a controlled environment. All has been going well and I've repotted them on numerous occasions as they grown.

The most recent re-potting has done something to them as their leaves are turning a shiny brown colour from the tip inwards. I don't know if its a fertilizer burn or over watering...?

The potting mix I used was (per mix batch):
9 scoops potting soil
3 scoop seedling soil mix
3 scoops perlite
1 scoop vermiculite
2 pinches bone meal

I potted them on a warm day in the sun and watered them only once till water drained out of the pot and then left them. They haven't been watered since (+- 5days) and are back indoors.

Any advice, solutions or hope?
Thanks!

Comments (9)

• kclost
    9 years ago

Mine are starting to do that as well on the upper leaves. Mine are outside in the ground though.. Hopefully we will get some help here.

This post was edited by kclost on Thu, Aug 21, 14 at 13:03

• djoyofficial
    9 years ago

Did you harden them off before taking them out into the sun? In case yiu didnt already know. Plants that are grown indoors need to be gradually introduced to full.

I am a first year pepper grower and learned this the hard way with my first seedlings. I recall them looking similar to your pictures. They did recover just fine as new growth came in.

dj

• DMForcier
    9 years ago

That could very well be sunburn, though I've never seen it like that.