Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
elightfl

Need help supporting pepper plant

elight
12 years ago

Hi all,

This is my first attempt at growing peppers. When I transplanted it originally, I did not put a stake or cage--whoops! About a week ago, the plant began to lean as its first fruit began to grow larger and weigh it down. Also, over the past week, storms (I presume) have completely ripped off some branches and individual peppers.

I tried to fix this by putting a stake on the side of the bucket and using a variety of ties to hold the plant upright. Although them main stem now is straight up, the branches still lean and I fear that more peppers will snap off before they are ripe.

What can I do at this point to support it? I've come up with the following possibilities:

1. Put an inverted conical tomato cage on top. This may require some finessing of the plant and its branches.

2. Put two more stakes on opposite sides of the container, and then tie string between them at a few different heights to create a make-shift cage.

3. Put a few more stakes and tie individual branches to them.

I am open to ideas, as I have no idea how to properly support this plant and want to make sure that all of my peppers don't end up green and on the ground. Thanks!

Comments (13)

• esox07 (4b) Wisconsin
    12 years ago